How to delete Google Maps history

Posted on |


google maps on android showing New York City

Google Maps tracks your location history to give you faster search results, more accurate recommendations, and wait-time estimates. The more data you share with Google, the more personalized your experience with the service becomes. While this can be a helpful feature, it may alarm privacy-minded individuals that Google records your every move. Here’s how to delete your Google Maps history.

Read more: Ten best privacy apps for Android to keep your anonymity intact 

QUICK ANSWER 

From your Google Account, select Settings and then Maps history. From there, you can select the X icon beside specific entries you want to delete. To delete larger chunks of history, select More in the search bar, then Delete activity by, choosing a time frame.


JUMP TO KEY SECTIONS

How to delete Google Maps search history

When creating an account, by default, Google will enable Web & App Activity to collect your data and use it to give you more personalized experiences across all Google services. Google Maps uses this data to track places you’ve visited, reviewed, shared, or searched for recently. Luckily, if you don’t want to share a specific direction or location you saw with Google, you can delete it.

Delete Google Maps history from the app

Open the Google Maps app on your phone or tablet, and sign in. Next, tap your Account Circle in the top right corner and tap Settings.

Maps Account Settings

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Under the Settings menu, tap Maps history.

Maps Settings

Adam Birney / Android Authority

From this page, you can see your activity, delete it manually, or choose to delete it automatically. Next to the entries you want to delete, tap the X icon and Delete to confirm your decision.

Maps Delete

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Delete Google Maps history from a computer

Open Google Maps on your web browser, then click Menu in the top left corner. From there, click Maps activity.

Google Maps Activity

Adam Birney / Android Authority

From here, you can see your activity, delete it manually, or choose to delete it automatically using specific controls.

You’ll find your recently-visited locations listed below and can erase them by clicking the X icon and choosing Delete.

Delete Maps history

Adam Birney / Android Authority

To delete past trips or locations, you can search for them or select a date range by clicking the Delete drop-down menu on the right side of Filter by date. 

How to delete all Google Maps history

If you don’t want Google Maps recording anywhere you’ve been or looked at, you can delete your entire history. This is an excellent method to share data with other Google services but not Google Maps. Otherwise, it’s probably best to disable Web & App Activity in your account settings.

Be aware that deleting all of your Google Maps history doesn’t delete places you’ve saved, shared, or reviewed.

Delete all Google Maps history from the app

Open the Google Maps app on your Android phone or tablet, and sign in. Next, tap your Account Circle in the top right corner and tap Settings.

Maps Account Settings

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Under the Settings menu, tap Maps history.

Maps Settings

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Below the search bar, besides where it says Filter by date, tap on the Delete drop-down menu.

Maps Activity

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Next, tap All time for your preferred time range to delete.

Delete Maps Activity

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Later, when you have completed this process, you can come back to this page to schedule automatic deletions so you don’t keep having to do it manually.

Lastly, tap Delete in the bottom right corner to erase your Google Maps history.

Maps Confirm Delete

Adam Birney / Android Authority

You now have a blank slate for Google to base your recommendations on.

Delete all Google Maps history from a computer

Open Google Maps on your web browser, then click Menu in the top left corner. From there, click Maps activity.

Google Maps Activity

Adam Birney / Android Authority

From here, you can see your activity, delete it manually, or choose to delete it automatically using specific controls.

First, click the Delete menu beside the Filter by date section to delete all your history.

Delete Maps history

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Lastly, select All time and then click Delete. You can return to this page to set up automatic deletions of your Maps history to avoid doing it automatically every time.

Delete Maps history all time

Adam Birney / Android Authority

How to clear location history in Google Maps

Location history is a setting within your Google Account that tracks where you go on each device you’re signed into. Benefits include accessing personalized maps, getting recommendations based on places you’ve visited, helping to find your phone, and real-time traffic updates about your commute. You can limit which devices provide location data or turn it off to halt the process entirely. However, when turned off, the previous activity is not deleted from your Location History.

Clear all or a range of location history from the app

Open Google Maps on your phone or tablet. Tap your Account Circle in the top right corner and tap Your Timeline.

Maps Account Timeline

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Next, tap More in the top right corner and Settings and privacy.
Maps Timeline Settings

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Lastly, scroll down to find Location Settings. Tap Delete all Location History to clear all of your location histories or tap Delete Location History range and select a start date and end date to clear a specific timeline of location data.

Delete Location History

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Clear a day or a stop from location history from the app

Open Google Maps on your phone or tablet. Tap your Account Circle in the top right corner and tap Your Timeline.

Maps Account Timeline

Adam Birney / Android Authority

To delete all the trips on a specific day, select the calendar date by tapping Today in the center of the screen. Then, tap More in the top right corner and tap Delete day. Lastly, follow the on-screen instructions to agree that you understand you are deleting this data.

Location History Delete Day

Adam Birney / Android Authority

To delete a single stop within a trip, start by selecting the correct calendar date by tapping Today in the screen center. Then, scroll through your trip timeline at the bottom of the screen to find the stop you want to delete. Next, tap the three dots beside the stop and tap Remove.

Location History delete stop

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Clear location history from a computer

Open your Google Maps Timeline from a web browser. Then, click the garbage-bin icon in the bottom right.

Location History Delete

Adam Birney / Android Authority

To clear a single day of location data or a single stop along your trip, first, select the correct date in the Timeline in the top left corner.

Then, click the garbage bin to delete the whole day or click the three dots beside a single stop and click Remove stop from day.

Clear location history

Adam Birney / Android Authority

Your Timeline in Google Maps won’t track how far you’ve walked, but it will track how much time you spent walking, as well as driving, cycling, and time spent taking public transportation. Open your Timeline and select Insights to see how long you spend in each mode of transportation.

Can Google Maps track my run?

Yes. You can track your run with Google Maps by setting a walking direction, and then you can view the result in Timeline. However, Google Fit might be a better solution to record the distance traveled, as Google Maps will only show you time spent running.

Can you track a phone using Google Maps?

Yes, but you must have opted-in to Google’s Find my Phone service. Open your Timeline in Google Maps to see the most recent location of your phone. You can also trace your phone from the last date you had it and view the routes the phone traveled. Note that the phone needs to remain turned on for the tracking feature to work. Without an active battery, it cannot transmit the GPS signal.

See also: What should you do if your phone is stolen?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *